Trying to figure out how to get some hands on experience with saltwater aquarium fish in Chicago

Jenifer.Lea.Nix

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm a certified aquatic veterinarian and recently graduated with a Masters in Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences from the University of Florida. I practice at an exotic pet practice where I see maybe 5 fish per year and they are mostly koi and goldfish. I want to get actual hands-on experience working with more fish and my end goal is to be selected for a job in an aquarium or at least land a fellowship or internship program in the near future. I am just wondering- is there any way to get experience in the Chicagoland area or Wisconsin even? I have been trying to get into Shedd for the last 2 years but they never have any opportunities for me. I am willing to move out of Chicago and into a more fish-friendly place if this is what it takes but I am looking into my options first. I am also interested in research with fish but unsure of what is out there. Thanks.

nezw0001

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Would you be available to send fish to for necropsy and diagnosis, for a fee, obviously? I'm a poultry veterinarian and struggle to find anyone interested in providing this service.

OP
OP
J

Jenifer.Lea.Nix

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0