Tuning Short Pulse Wave Inside of Ecosmart Live

Discussion in 'EcoTech Marine' started by aarbutina, Aug 23, 2017.

  1. aarbutina

    aarbutina Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    129
    Hello Ecotech (or anyone else who is browsing this forum and may have an answer for this question), I am having trouble figuring out how to auto tune a short pulse wave using two MP40s that are currently linked to my Reeflink and thus Ecosmart live.

    I basically want to be able to used the saved auto tuned short pulse with the Ecosmart Nutrient Export Mode. In the manual it states:

    Phase one, or the wave phase, consists of the pumps puls- ing at an expanding frequency so as to achieve a resonant wave in any aquarium at some point in the pulse cycle. If you have already tuned a wave form into your EcoSMART driver by using the auto-tune function in Short Pulse Mode, this saved resonant wave will automatically be used during phase one of the this mode. The pulsing serves to raise de- bris and detritus from the bottom of the tank and behind the rock work, where it will then be migrated out from the water column and into your overflow during phase two.

    What I am having trouble with though is that its appears that you can only autotune a wave for a two pump configuration (on running slave anti sync) if you disconnect the pumps from the reeflink and then asking them as master and slave. After you do that you can tune the save and save it. Unfortunately in order to get the MP40s connected back to the reeflink you have to do a factory reset so that it can detect them. In doing this it appears that you loose the wave you have just programed.

    Am I missing something here? Something isn't making sense to me.

    On a side not shouldn't you be able to autotune a wave through ecosmart live. It seems like that would be a very basic feature that should be incorporated.
     
    Tags:

  2. Jakewatt

    Jakewatt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    France
    I am asking myself the exact same question....! is it not possible to auto-tune a wave in ecosmart live? i kinda bought the reeflink thinking it would make all these options easy....
     
  3. Jakewatt

    Jakewatt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    France
    Any update on this question? Setting autotune wave in ecosmart live? i kinda bought the reeflink for this..... ;(
     
  4. aarbutina

    aarbutina Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    129
    So unfortunately you are going to be disappointed. I did get confirmation from technical support at Ecotech that the auto tuned wave function is wiped out when you link the driver to you reef link. Additionally there is no functionality in EcoSmart live at this time that allows for a wave to be auto tuned in the ESL at this time. When tech support asked the engineers about this they said this might be a functionality they may build in in the future.

    To me this is a big miss. With one of the EcoSmart modes so dependent on this programmed pulse it if very puzzling why this wasn’t always built in to ESL.
     
  5. Breadman03

    Breadman03 Well-Known Member Catskill Reef Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    606
    Location:
    Luzerne County, PA
    I went into “Demo” mode and tuned my wave there, then just used input that pulse timing into the short pulse profile.
     
  6. aarbutina

    aarbutina Active Member Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2017
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    129
    My understanding from Ecotech is that that short pulse isn’t used in the “nutrient export” EcoSmart mode.
     
  7. Jakewatt

    Jakewatt Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2017
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    France
    Really is a shame... there’s still a lot of room for improvement in that app... like a « stop pump » emergency button. I used the barely spinning mode (feed mode), cause I usually turn pumps off when feeding, was great the first few seconds then a thumping noise on the glass coming from both mp40’s (as if both sides weren’t aligned) and it jerked both dry sides apart from wet sides! Has anyone experienced this???

    Also, does reeflink need to stay powered on once the schedule is programmed? Do you leave it on all the time?

    Finally, how to easily get back to manual mode, ie just using the drivers directly without the reeflink?
     
  8. Breadman03

    Breadman03 Well-Known Member Catskill Reef Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    606
    Location:
    Luzerne County, PA
    I can't use the "barely spinning" mode either. My factory 40QD's just bounce off. My 40WES upgraded with QD drivers and wet sides work fine, though. I've swapped around wet sides with no change.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...