Turf Algae - Should I just use fluconazole?

sanzz18

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I have been battling green turf algae for a few months in my Waterbox 220.6. I neglected maintenance for awhile last year and ended up with nutrient spikes. That has been more controlled lately, but I obviously know that my nitrate and phosphate levels aren't true numbers due to the turf algae up taking the nutrients. I have since increased my CUC including adding two tuxedo urchins. Manuel removal is difficult for me to do efficiently, I cannot take the rocks out of my tank and it is hard to get most patches in the tank.

I feel like it has gotten too far out of control for my CUC to really get a grasp on this. Do you guys think I am at the point to where I should use fluconazole? I have heard of great success on these forums and other Facebook groups like BRS.

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Congratulations on the baby! Looks like you now are having a little more time for the hobby.

That tank looks great for a few months old with the natural cycle of turf algae moving through the current stage of tank life succession(s). Let it ride!
I would add pods to mow the lawn, and maybe some hermit crabs or similar cleaning crew. You have lots of tangs help + urchins and sooner than expected the turf will fade and you will have another issue that needs attention. I wouldn’t rush to add fluc but let the tank mature biologically for a better long term result imo.
I know it’s difficult to not drop the F bomb but I swear you don’t need too.
HTH

OP
OP
sanzz18

sanzz18

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Congratulations on the baby! Looks like you now are having a little more time for the hobby.

That tank looks great for a few months old with the natural cycle of turf algae moving through the current stage of tank life succession(s). Let it ride!