Upgrading a 36g bowfront to 40g breeder: Is bigger actually better if I plan to upgrade to something with a sump in the future?

Ettercap

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I currently have a 36g bowfront and Im very new to saltwater. Im debating on getting rid of the 36g bowfront and switching to a 40g breeder but that comes with the cost of tank + new stand which the stand is always crazy expensive. Is it really worth it? I dont want to go to a 48" tank because Im currently arguing with the wife about upgrading in the first place and just going to saltwater and the added costs.
But, the 36g has the following issues of upgrading:
1. It has that support brace in the middle that I feel I shouldnt cut away. This is not going to allow me to add in a HOB refugium.
2. I do have 2x Hydra HDs (I was using them for high light fw plants) but while I know it is overkill... it will be hard to put a Tidal 75 on the back and the 2x Hydras.
3. I do have a 407 fluval but Im learning/researching why they are considered "nitrate traps?" While the strong recommendation is to use the HOB filter... IDK if Im just screwing up by using a cannister filter and having space for the hydra lights or Im creating a scenario that will end in failure due to the "cannister" dilemna?

40g breeder:
While I would love to upgrade to something larger... the plan is to possibly create a 40g breeder but is that "juice worth that squeeze?"
1. The extra expense of tank + stand. Tank may be $40 but the stand is $200+
2. Its not that much larger in volume for the upgrade.
3. It can be used as a future sump for something bigger but then again the plan is to upgrade to a Red Sea E series style tank in the future.
4. It will give enough room for the HOB filter and lights and possible HOB refugium and ... but again is that "just worth that squeeze?
5. HUGEST NEGATIVE... it will tick off the wife for a bit until she sees actual "life" in the tank and the aesthetics!