Vibrant Liquid Aquarium Cleaner * Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Reef Aquarium Discussion' started by UWC, Oct 26, 2016.

  1. TheEngineer

    TheEngineer Formerly icecool2 R2R Supporter Showcase Editor Delaware Reef Club Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    2,585
    Location:
    PA
    This tank used to have nitrates around 2ppm. Then all heck broke loose and everything got covered in algae. Hence my purchase :) I can give it a small dose to get the level up though. What do you recommend?
     
    Brew12 likes this.

  2. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    10,873
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I used stump remover when I had cyano problems from dosing Vibrant. Cleared it right up. The goal is to keep them around 5ppm. You also want to stir the sand bed regularly.
     
  3. TheEngineer

    TheEngineer Formerly icecool2 R2R Supporter Showcase Editor Delaware Reef Club Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    2,585
    Location:
    PA
    I never stir my sand. I’ve always thought that was a no no. I have the stump remover. I’ve always had issues in my tank when using it.
     
  4. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    10,873
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I think stirring sand is vital to prevent cyano as long as you don't run a DSB. That can cause problems. But, if your sand is 2" or less, stir away. After all, isn't that why so many of us put sand sifters in our CuC?
     
    UWC and TheEngineer like this.
  5. Mike Murphy

    Mike Murphy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    2
    I had a dictyota algae problem. Thought it was cool looking at first, then it literally took over my tank. I had read about your product in this post and decided to give it a try. Although there is no mention of Dictyota eradication in any of the posts I read. I can attest it works. Thank you
     
    Scubabeth and rushbattle like this.
  6. rushbattle

    rushbattle Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2016
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    92
    Thank you for reporting this! So often folks don’t, and it’s quite helpful if these observations are recorded so others can have an idea if it might work.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  7. Charles4400

    Charles4400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    43
    Has anyone used this with clams in the tank?

    If so did you you notice any effects on them?
     
  8. David Bell

    David Bell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Fair Oaks CA
    I just started dosing Vibrant with a Maxima Clam in my tank. the suggestion was to start at 1/4 of the dose to see what the clam does. As of today, my clam looks like there are no ill effects from the dosage and I will start the full dose tomorrow since I am trying to rid the tank of cyano and bubble algae.
     
    Charles4400 likes this.
  9. tdileo

    tdileo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Has anybody used this to treat bryopsis? I'm curious as to if it truly works for it.
     
  10. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    10,873
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    It does, but it takes a long time. That stuff is tough.
    Fluconazole works better for Bryopsis but it puts a hurt on a lot of the smaller life in your system. I lost all my amphipods after dosing with Fluconazole.
     
  11. tdileo

    tdileo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    New Jersey
    So my best bet is Fluconanzole then? I am setting up a new tank so don't mind if most of the pods die as I will be re-seeding it anyway. I'm going to try and remove all of my anemones manually so I can just dry out and re-cure the rocks I like and use them but give the rest to someone else who wants it.
     
  12. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    10,873
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I'm confused. If you are going to dry out and re-cure the rock, why treat it at all?
     
  13. tdileo

    tdileo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,086
    Likes Received:
    701
    Location:
    New Jersey
    If I can't remove my anemones, I'm going to treat the tank. But if I can, I'm going to dry and re-cure the rock after I move the nems to my new tank.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  14. Charles4400

    Charles4400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2017
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    43
    Thanks David, great to hear no ill affects on the clam! Please keep us updated.
     
  15. David Bell

    David Bell Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2017
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Fair Oaks CA
    Will do. :) I am also using the reef version of Vibrant to clarify this to.
     
  16. Just_Pete

    Just_Pete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Glad I stumbled on this thread! Been dealing with a bubble algae problem :mad:

    Manual picking isn't doing much as I tend to pop half of the bubbles each time. I just ordered Vibrant for Reefs. I have a IM20 gallon stocked with zoas, torches, blastos, 3 acros, monti, favia, cleaner shrimp, emerarld grab, hermits, snails, dottyback, mandarin, and clown. My livestock should be ok with 1ml every week, right? I do a 4 gallon water change every week.

    I also have chateo and a pretty healthy copopods population, will Vibrant have an effect on these?
     
  17. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    10,873
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    The vibrant will take out the Chaeto after a few weeks if you dose more than every other week so you may want to pull that. Otherwise, it shouldn't cause any problems.
     
  18. Just_Pete

    Just_Pete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Awesome! Thanks for the info. What about copepods?
     
  19. Just_Pete

    Just_Pete Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Awesome! Thanks for the info. What about copepods?
     
  20. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,899
    Likes Received:
    10,873
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Nope, no problems there.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...