Water change Question: Max acceptable temp difference/change.

Patrick Whitehead

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm new to Marine tanks but have been keeping freshwater off and on since the late 60's. My last experience was with planted freshwater. (CO2 injection, dosing ferts and the like). There I got away with some pretty wide ranging differences in temperatures with my water changes. I know with marine systems the tolerances are tighter.

Don't have the tank yet; still doing research. I'll be mixing at a station in my garage which can get a little hot (mid to high 90's are not unheard of). I'm planning the basic 10% per week so a temp difference in the makeup water of 10° would show up as a 1° change in the final temp in the tank.

What is a tolerable difference before I float an ice bag or something?

mcarroll

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If the water is at one of the temperature extremes, just make sure you stick with small water changes and you shouldn't have to worry.

But if it comes up, I wouldn't purposefully drop the DISPLAY TEMP any more than 2-3 degrees.

I'd hope that's in the sump too, so there's a lot of mixing with display water vs one big shock. You can definitely get away with a larger temperature differetial in the sump.

IMO corals and fish seem to appreciate the "rainfall effect". Temperature does drop on reefs due to rain/storms.

Crabs McJones

I'm so shi-nay
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Welcome to R2R!
giphy.gif
#WelcometoR2R
I would agree with what @mcarroll said above. No more than a 2 to 3 degree temp swing and add the new water into the sump so it has more time to mix in with your tank water instead of dropping or raising the display tank temp by adding it up top :)

scott11106

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0