Waterbox 60.2 Macro in sump?

Morrissey

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I have the marine x 60.2 waterbox aquarium. The sump does not have a specific refugium section, however there is space in the first section before skimmer were the display drains into. Could I try chaeto in there with a solid light? My goal is to lower nutrients and out compete hair algae in the main display.

Thanks!

WheatToast

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You mean before the filter socks, right? If so, no - you don’t want a refugium there.
I have heard that Chaetomorpha and Ulva can be used as mechanical filtration, but I have no experience with this. I couldn’t imagine them as efficient at removing particulates as filter socks, though.

Eagle_Steve

Grandpa of Cronies
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all,

I have the marine x 60.2 waterbox aquarium. The sump does not have a specific refugium section, however there is space in the first section before skimmer were the display drains into. Could I try chaeto in there with a solid light? My goal is to lower nutrients and out compete hair algae in the main display.

Thanks!
You could try cheato or ulva in a small planter basket with a light above it. This would keep it contained and create less of a mess.

Simon Reefing

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I have the marine X 110.4 I think the sumps are a bit different is this where the pipes go into then it drains to socks? I was running lowing Nitrates and Phosphates. I ended up taking down my nyos skimmer and just making a fuge with no skimmer. I honestly think you should be fine in that section

blaxsun

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0