Welcome to our newest forum sponsor ReefWeeds: Reef-Inspired Art!

Discussion in '@ReefWeeds: Reef-Inspired Art' started by revhtree, May 15, 2018.

1. revhtree

revhtree Owner Administrator Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Photo of the Month Award Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

I would like to take a moment and welcome ReefWeeds as the newest sponsor of the Reef2Reef community! We are very happy and thankful to have you as a supporter of our reefing family!

Please take a moment to learn about them and to enjoy the beautiful reef art they create!

Untitled-5.jpg

About Rachel of ReefWeeds

Art has always a passion for me - I have been painting for 30+ years. I am drawn to light, water, and reflections. My painting style is somewhere between realism and impressionism, and can lean one way or the other depending on my mood. I started in watercolors, then added acrylics and found a true passion with oils. However, I've now found an addiction to UV paint.

I have another passion: I truly enjoy the beauty, challenge and addiction associated with keeping a reef tank. I find joy in everything from goofy hermit crabs to beautiful coral. Earlier this year, I had five running reef tanks. With life being busy, I realized consolidating to one tank was important - so I got a 150 gallon tank, set it up and you can see progress under the Picasso Build page!

I’ve always been one to experiment with different painting styles and materials, so in early 2017 I set out to blend my passion for painting with my passion for coral reefs by creating reef-inspired art. I use primary acrylic paint and then strategically place highlights with UV-reactive paint to replicate the beautiful and awe-inspiring fluorescence corals give out under actinic lighting.