What are the root causes of Cyano?

Discussion in 'Reef Chemistry by Randy Holmes-Farley' started by aeras1131, Nov 18, 2017.

1. aeras1131

aeras1131 Active Member

Hello All,
    I am curious what are the root causes of cyano. I have zero experience with it in my aquaria... *knocks on wood*. I want to avoid creating an aquarium environment that fosters the growth of cyano for the future.

jsker likes this.
    Tags:

2. EriksOasis

EriksOasis Well-Known Member

From my experience and what others have experienced low flow and excess nutrients in the water have cause Cyanobacteria.

Doclight, jsker and Mikedawg like this.
  3. aeras1131

aeras1131 Active Member

Ironically I did had super high nutrients and average flow. I have 2 of the large hydro korallia's on perpetually before I honed my approach to reef maintenance. Perhaps I got lucky. Currently, I do not have low flow or high nutrients by anyone's standards

jsker and EriksOasis like this.
  4. Salty1962

Salty1962 Wrasse and SPS Lover R2R Supporter Reef Squad R2R Excellence Award Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

Low flow and nutrients;)

jsker and Mikedawg like this.
  5. Randy Holmes-Farley

Randy Holmes-Farley Reef Chemist Staff Member Team R2R R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Article Contributor Expert Contributor

Unlike most "algae", many species of cyano can take up and get energy by metabolizing organics. So organics, whether added (such as vodka) or naturally present can drive the growth of cyano.

Of course, it does also need nutrients in some form.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
    Tony Thompson, cburto, Roggio and 7 others like this.
  6. brandon429

brandon429 why did you put a reef in that R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

Due to the outcomes collected I have the opinion the root cause of cyanobacteria invasions is doing opposite of what's done in the sand rinse thread :)
    total compliance there, variation elsewhere, im sold.

Last edited: Nov 18, 2017
    Bunnee911 likes this.