What if I did 1 lightning maroon and a group of ocellaris clownfish?

agame2021

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So, I’m new to the hobby and am not in any rush. I actually just picked up my first tank and it’s got just about everything I need.(waiting on a few little things to show up.)
It’s a 140 gallon with stand and a eshopps AR-200 4th gen sump. I have a little over 100 lbs of live rock in there now.
I love the look of the lightning maroon clownfish but I think I like the ocellaris designer clowns (specifically the black frostbite clowns) better.
What if I did a clown harem with 1 lightning maroon? With this be fatal for my tank?
Are harems hard to keep?
Is there a better starter tank for a tank this size?

thanks in advance!!!

7BC83E66-F25C-437B-BC23-AB198387058C.jpeg

HD_Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You might get away with 2 pairs of clowns, but I doubt it lasts very long. I'm surprised there haven't been a ton of posts on your topic....people get very passionate about this! I would stick with only a pair and not take the risk....just my 2 cents.

Dolphins18

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had luck with a pair of snowflakes when they first came out with a maroon, added the snowflakes first - they stayed more toward the top of the tank or I would not have done this. The maroon was added when he was a tiny bit smaller than the female, he got shredded for nearly 2 months, maroons are tough fish, he outgrew and all lived happily for many years. One occy and the tomato still live - one occy jumped on my negligence.
Had it been the other way around from the start and the maroon was bullying the snowflakes, they would not stand a chance. Its important to see what is going on in the tank before making a decision, nobody can tell you if it would work. I'd imagine you'd want some fish that seem like predators to the other clowns before trying, maybe an angel/foxface before trying.