What salt do you use and how to change

LxHowler

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been using h2ocean pro mix on my tank since I started it on recommendation by my LFS, I was a complete newby then and went off of what they said. Now I have been doing this a little while I am looking at changing salt as the h2oceans alk mixes alot higher than I would like, I try to keep it around 9 dkh but the salt mixes to a minimum of 9.3.
I am looking at changing to Fritz rpm as it's claimed levels look alot closer to where I try to run my tank, does anyone who uses Fritz have an opinion on it And anything that I should be aware of when changing salts other than avoiding large swings.
Also curious as to what salts everyone is using?

canadianeh

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am using tropic Marin. I never changed salt in between but I read that you can introduce the change gradually.

IamJoHo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have changed salts a couple times. Most recently I i upgraded to a larger tank and decided I wanted to switch from ESV salt to Red Sea Coral Pro. I did 3 30% water changes over 3 days then all new water in the new tank on day 4. No issues. I have also switched by doing normal water changes and just switching salts. Although I'm not sure if changing salts to get a 0.3 dkh change. I switch because I was going from a 9dkh salt to a 12dkh salt mix.

OP
OP
LxHowler

LxHowler

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have changed salts a couple times. Most recently I i upgraded to a larger tank and decided I wanted to switch from ESV salt to Red Sea Coral Pro. I did 3 30% water changes over 3 days then all new water in the new tank on day 4. No issues. I have also switched by doing normal water changes and just switching salts. Although I'm not sure if changing salts to get a 0.3 dkh change. I switch because I was going from a 9dkh salt to a 12dkh salt mix.