what the heck is happening to my meteor shower coral

iamahab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Something keeps taking chunks out of my meteor shower. It's happened three times now.I caught a hermit crab chilling on it and later in the day I came home to massive chunks taken out of it.I removed the hermits I had in the tank and now all I have that could be doing it is a emerald crab. I'm pretty new to saltwater tanks and I'm lost here. I've brought this thing back from the brink two times and it was almost fully healed. This is maddening
Cal- 561
Phos 13 (I'm bringing that down with phosguard
Alk 9.9
I do not have current mag results.

Screen Shot 2021-11-21 at 6.43.27 AM.png

kittenbritches

The Cat's Pajamas
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh man. Could you buy a shroom cage to keep it in for healing and observation? If it improves without other treatment or tank changes, someone was probably munching on it. If it continues to lose polyps and/or deteriorate, it's sick.

What other types of corals do you have and how are they doing?

JNalley

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've heard of Emerald Crabs eating whatever they can get their claws on once there is no more algae in the tank... But I agree with kittenbritches, put a cage over it and see if it improves or continues, that's the only way to know for sure without removing your emerald crab.

OP
OP
iamahab

iamahab

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oh man. Could you buy a shroom cage to keep it in for healing and observation? If it improves without other treatment or tank changes, someone was probably munching on it. If it continues to lose polyps and/or deteriorate, it's sick.

What other types of corals do you have and how are they doing?