What's the lowest budget option for an AWC?

Cell

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 20, 2019
Messages
1,281
Reaction score
1,467
Does the Auto Aqua work in sumpless ystems too or do aquarium lights mess with the optical sensors?
 
Top Shelf Aquatics

LiamPM

Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2016
Messages
63
Reaction score
81
If you want the app controlled option i dont think two VERSA's sets you back too much and there is a few posts regarding using them for this reason - Its the route ill be going eventually - 2 VERSA's, $300 doesnt seem too sad when you compare what they are capable of compared to a specifically built device for AWC.
 
Best reef aquarium LED lighting

Adellimore

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jun 21, 2019
Messages
117
Reaction score
328
Location
New York
I have an APEX and ATK like you.

My ATK solution is about $80 dollars.

For AWC you can simply use 2 PMUPs for $40 dollars each. Put one in your sump, and one in a tank with your fresh salt water.

You can program it to change daily or with a feed mode like i did. My feed mode drains water for 30 min and adds water until the optical sensor is triggered on my ATK.

For my specific setup I just purchased one PMUP and attached a Solenoid value at the end of my manifold that opens to drain the water.
 

jwt1603

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 1, 2017
Messages
358
Reaction score
216
Location
St Johns, Florida
Great to hear feedback from a long time user. Don't mean to derail but how often do you clean the sensors and have you had any mishaps with them at all? I've used the unit for a month or 2 now and really like it.
Thanks
I haven't had any issue swiththe sensors on the Auto Aqua. I just sort of wipe them off when I htink of it. Probably three times in two years. I like the Auto Aqua because it's an all in one unit so the AWC and ATO with with each other without any additional programming. When it goes into AWC mode it automatically shuts off the ATO. And it's easy to program.
 

merfish101

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
132
Reaction score
25
Location
Jacksonville, fl

You can see it in action:

Where did you get those containers and how much do they hold?
 
https://www.omegasea.net/

Peace River

Thrive Master
View Badges
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
7,228
Reaction score
42,403
Location
Central Florida, USA
Where did you get those containers and how much do they hold?
You can check at your local Tractor Supply store (or comparable). Additionally, you may want to check out this thread for mixing station container options:


Good luck!
 

merfish101

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Dec 22, 2012
Messages
132
Reaction score
25
Location
Jacksonville, fl
You can check at your local Tractor Supply store (or comparable). Additionally, you may want to check out this thread for mixing station container options:


Good luck!
Thank you
 

Reeferbob420

Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 26, 2019
Messages
18
Reaction score
35
How can u use the smart AWC if ur water reservoir is in the basement and the fish tank is on main floor. Max head pressure height is only 6.5 feet.
 

Ameer214

Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 26, 2019
Messages
38
Reaction score
39
+1 for the Autoaqua AWC with ATO. I have had it for 1.5 years and it works great. Automatic water changes every 3 days. ATO automatically turns off during water changes. It is a fantastic little kit.
 

RCS82

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 9, 2018
Messages
356
Reaction score
406
Location
Sherwood Park, AB, Canada
How can u use the smart AWC if ur water reservoir is in the basement and the fish tank is on main floor. Max head pressure height is only 6.5 feet.
I'm no expert with this unit but have been using it the last month or so and love it. I know you can use different pumps with it which could solve head pressure but you still need a pump in your reservoir and a pump in your salt water container. These pumps both have to connect to the controller so where will the controller be situated is the problem. Its a great unit if you have reservoirs close by or a fish room behind the tank kinda thing. Longer extension cables are available I've seen too.
 

Is it HARD or EASY for you to keep your corals colorful? (check all that apply)

  • SPS Hard

    Votes: 335 61.1%
  • SPS Easy

    Votes: 136 24.8%
  • LPS Hard

    Votes: 84 15.3%
  • LPS Easy

    Votes: 362 66.1%
  • Zoas Hard

    Votes: 54 9.9%
  • Zoas Easy

    Votes: 358 65.3%
  • Soft Corals Hard

    Votes: 43 7.8%
  • Soft Corals Easy

    Votes: 360 65.7%

Online statistics

Members online
2,620
Guests online
5,502
Total visitors
8,122
Tunze
Top