Why are tops of aquariums open?

J1a

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!
So im new in the hobby and have a glass plate on my aquarium now.

my question is: why are a lot of aquariums with open top? Is this not a big risk for the fish to jump out? And what are the advantages of a open tank?
Firstly the gas exchange at the surface of the water is a good way to ensure there are sufficient oxygen in the water.

Secondly, condensation on the glass plate can reduce the light penetration into the tank.

A screen top is just as effective, and avoid all these problems. Not to mention it's lighter to remove for tank maintenance.

tharbin

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Glass lids are much more popular with freshwater. Saltwater tanks hold less oxygen so you need as much gas exchange area as possible. The single largest air/water interface in your aquarium is almost always the tank's surface so you keep it open to improve gas exchange. It does also allow more light penetration and we usually need to get as much light into the tank as possible. It also increases evaporation which can be helpful in warmer climates.

That said, the increased evaporation means you top off more often.

I think most reefers do have tops, usually mesh, because fish do jump but they are often removed during photography.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, CO2 is harder to exchange and equilibrate than is O2, and the simple fact that reef tanks often have a pH change day to night is proof that gas exchange is not complete, even with open tops and skimmers.

tracemccune

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
FWIW, CO2 is harder to exchange and equilibrate than is O2, and the simple fact that reef tanks often have a pH change day to night is proof that gas exchange is not complete, even with open tops and skimmers.