Why can't I have nice things... and by that, I mean SPS.

New&no clue

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Reefing community HELP!!!

I am still new to saltwater, been doing it for about two years. I have tried hard to learn as much as possible in these two years. However, I still can't seem to keep SPS alive. What am I missing? I will take any and all advice I can get.

I have a 180-gallon tank with three MP40's all at 75% reef crest mode. I have two ATI LED/T5 Combos. I rented a PAR meter from BRS, and at the top of the rockwork where the SPS is, it is between 250-400 PAR. I use RODI water and Brightwell salt. My parameters are

Salinity: 1.025-1.026
CAL:445
ALK:8.6
MAG:1410
Nitrates:4.0
Phosphates:0.18
PH: 8.0

Full tank shot, and Sump shot below.
1629981613044.png

1629981638300.png

1629981660364.png

MONTANTK

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Stability is important with SPS. You’ll want to make sure your parameters are as stable as possible, especially Alk. Overall, your parameters don’t look bad. Phosphate might be a little high but you could probably lay keep some easier stuff like montis, birdsnest, and some simple acros. What typically happens to frags when you lose them?

Tamberav

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The rock doesn’t look two years old to me and no coralline on the outflow?

Uncle99

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Very nice setup!
Your numbers are great
What does death look like?
Do they last for a period and just slowly peel?
Do they look fine before bed, then all white in the morning?
Do they pale in colour, or are they kinda brownish before they die?

OP
OP
New&no clue

New&no clue

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0