Why not have the opposite of Tank of the Month into Noob of the Month?

ReeferSamster

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just had a crazy idea. Not sure if it's practical. It might not fly, but throwing it out there.

ToTM have been a staple for reefing forums for decades.
Why don't we foster and support new reefers to grow the community even more.

Maybe we can have a Noob of the Month to introduce and support new reefers.
I don't take the word Noob offensively, I think the term is endearing and humble, especially when someone is honest and starts a thread "Hey I'm a noob. Here is my tank!"

All reefers that start a new tank (or try again) and show good photos of their setup,write up a thread of their equipment, their plans and show some bit of competency, get donated frags from other users as a sign of "Good luck!"

I guess shipping costs would be an issue. Maybe start a donation paypal fund in Reef2Reef dedicated for the cause. I don't know, its a spontaneous idea that popped up when looking at some new tank threads. I feel like I wish I can help them somehow other than just respond to their threads or give advice. I always have tons of frags and I'm not interested in changing my career to sell coral frags. My frag tank is becoming overrun with lots of my own coral that I just don't want to throw out.

Wouldn't it be cool if everyone's frags were in a noob's tank? And hopefully he or she would maintain a build thread and we can all see how our frags are doing. In essence, we would be giving a piece of our tanks to noobs which might motivate them more and foster a closer relationship to other users and thereby tightening the community?

It's an evolution of the Introduce yourself threads with everyone saying "Welcome to Reef2reef!" Now we are actually not just saying it, but actually doing something about it. Imagine one day a few years later, a Noob of the Month actually becomes a Tank of the Month. Ha. That would be awesome.