Would you introduce pulsing xenias and kenya trees to your forever DT ?

Idech

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m new to saltwater and I’ve read that pulsing xenias and kenya trees can spread to the point of being way too much.

Right now I have 3 x pulsing xenias and 1 kenya tree in my 13.5 gallons Evo. The pulsing xenias have started spreading to the rocks. My 75 gallons display tank is currently cycling and I’m wondering if I should transfer the xenias and kenya tree when the time comes, or just leave them live a happy life in the Evo.

I don’t want my tank to be invaded with the same few corals and have little room left for variety. For those with experience, what do you recommend ?

kittenbritches

The Cat's Pajamas
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a xenia island that I'll cut back if it tries to spread beyond its rock. I personally don't like Kenya trees, so that's just a no from me in general. Haha.

If you enjoy those corals, put 'em in. If you're keeping the 13.5 up anyway, though, it could be fun to have the new tank stocked differently. :)

Tamberav

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would but I have no issues pruning and removing them. If you can’t imagine yourself removing them from the rocks when they spread and don’t want to do that. Then I would not add them.

Some people make their rock scapes too difficult to access and such as well.

Sharkbait19

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Just take a razor blade and pop them off the rock. You could toss them or see if your lfs gives you store credit for it.
5FC5A319-B47A-4D0E-A63F-2E7A34A10913.jpeg

Kinda a crappy pic, but all that pink on the left is Xenia. It has since spread all over…I like the stuff though. Easy to remove when I have to make room.

Gtinnel

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0