Wrasse dying...

Leslie Tabor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

@melypr1985
This is how I found my katoi wrasse this morning. Has been in my tank for a week, doing great. Eating, active...now this. :( I am at a loss. I apologize for the video and sound, I am not very good at this.
@Humblefish if you have any thoughts. I feel horrible...everyone else is doing so well.

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What kind of lid do you have on the tank? Canopy? It looks like he may have injured himself. I'd like to call in the wrasse guys on this one.. @evolved @eatbreakfast

melypr1985

totally addicted
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have the plastic mesh from bulk reef...i have read they can do that. Maybe into the glass?

Maybe or another fish being aggressive with him. What else do you have in the tank with him? Looks like a busy tank. (beautiful by the way)

OP
OP
Leslie Tabor

Leslie Tabor

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks, I am struggling with that at the moment. I have a tomini tang and a pair of lyre tail anthias that can be pushy but he seemed to be settled in, he was always fine when I was home. He had his little sleeping spot. I imagine it only takes one time if they scared him. He was fine yesterday...and curled up in his mucous cocoon last night. I found him like this, this morning before the lights came on.

ws6kid

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had this happen with a Rhomboid while in QT. No visible injury, just dead floating around about 3 hours after I left for work. Ate lots that morning. The can clearly do some serious damage to themselves running into the glass and rock.

greenhorn reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0