Wrongly dosed Randy's recipe 1 ....raised 3dkh in couple of hours

fr3n0z

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi guys, evidently noob here.

My KH was 7, yesterday i've made a batch of randy's alk recipe 2 and dosed to raise 1dkh, in the late afternoon kh was up to 8...this morning was back to 7 so around midday i've made a batch of randy recipe 1 since my ph was 8.1....i've dosed 10ml (as in chemistry calculator) and put them in the return pump area (i have a 13g AIO) around 3 in the afternoon, checked by evening ad kh was still 7 so i stupidly decide do dose again 10ml and put it in display area. Well, by 10 oclock KH was 9 and now, past midnight is at 10. Is a fairly new tank with 2 ocellaris, 1 amboniensis, 2 turbo, 3 nassarius, 1 xenia pumping, 1 briareum green and 1 sarcophyton (toadstool) that closed up around 11.

What do i do? just pray or can do something active? For what i've got reading here 1dkh in 24hrs is okay, 1.5 is limit.

AnyNameYouWish

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I raised my tank 1.5-2 dkh in like 15 minutes . I accidentally got the math wrong on brs two part, I only had a digi some monties and like two chalices. I will say they were not happy most ticked off was the digi and Miami hurricane chalice…I just let it drop naturally and from memory they all survived.

it was definitely a face palm ‍

xCry0x

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've raised my tank 3 dhk in 24 hours multiple times (from 7->10) and nothing bad has happened.

I wouldn't make a habit out of it.. My bigger concern would be the short term PH spike if you dropped a huge dose of soda ash.

OP
OP
fr3n0z

fr3n0z

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0