Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All,

I am brand new to this.

Cycled my tank,

Waited

Added 2 clowns

Waited 2 weeks, added a Saddle Puffer and a yellow tang. Yellow tang was grazing first few days, then went into hiding. Anytime I came into room he would go back and hide. Wasn't really eating with everyone else at this point. Today he was out but seemed to be struggling. For a time he wedged himself under a rock. I turned off some flow, and he came out. Now he looks bad. See pic. Any ideas ?
I put some sushi seaweed next to him rubber band to a rock. No interest. My numbers are 0,0,0.

I did add a zoanthid and a feather coral yesterday that my wife suprised me with. He wasn't near them.

20170614_135117.jpg

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Oi, that is one of the thinnest yellow tangs I've ever seen.... Did you purchase him like that or did he lose weight after you got him? Being that malnourished he very likely has internal parasites, maybe a little bit of HLLE, can't tell if it's that on his face or a wound. Velvet is also always a concern nowadays, and the tang hiding in the rocks could be indicative of that. Was he showing any other signs such as heavy breathing, swimming into a powerhead/current, flashing/scratching? Is he still alive at this point? Are any of your other fish showing any signs of illness or odd behavior, such as the ones previously mentioned?

@Humblefish @melypr1985 @Brew12 @ngoodermuth

GHsaltie

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm also trying to get your thread moved to fish diseases and illness to get some more eyes on it.

Paul B

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes, I am sorry, that tang is down for the count. I think he is too undernourished to recover.
I can't tell from here how he got into that condition.

OP
OP
William Norman

William Norman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0