Your Resident Electrician for all your electrical questions!

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by Young Frankenstein, May 12, 2012.

  1. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
    Also I just read the sump part, sump needs it's own cct.
     

  2. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,364
    Likes Received:
    10,112
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I believe she is referring to the aquarium sump area, not the basement sump.
     
  3. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
    Either way.

    ^^^Disregard that, I'm leaving it to show my lack of mental clarity at the moment.
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2017
  4. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,364
    Likes Received:
    10,112
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Why would an aquarium sump require its own circuit?
     
  5. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
    Because I catch a 5 am flight every monday to go to work and I didn't read what was typed correctly.... way.
     
    mcarroll and Brew12 like this.
  6. Victoria M

    Victoria M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    127
    The sump is in the basement in a fishroom, and has its own dedicated 20 amp breaker.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  7. Daza

    Daza Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Guys,
    Does anybody know how to wire up this Omron H3Y-2 timer.
    I want to use it to delay my skimmer from turning on after a power cut.
    I want to set it to turn the power on after a 30 minute duration, after this time the levels in my sump should be back to normal.
    Thanks,
    Darren.

    IMG_4317.JPG



    IMG_4318.JPG

    IMG_4319.JPG
     
  8. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
    I assume you want the skimmer to turn on 30 min after power is restored (Not Cut)

    I drew the 120vac version, same thing for 240vac

    upload_2017-9-18_16-14-27.png
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  9. mcarroll

    mcarroll Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    10,744
    Likes Received:
    4,501
    Location:
    Virginia
    I know this isn't news to many here, but I was gonna add that it's the amps your equipment pulls that counts a lot more-so than the number of outlets. (That's a design concern.)

    During the Metal Halide Years™ I had my breaker fully loaded by a single receptacle – be aware of the load you're putting on the circuit as well as the breaker capactiy. Get a Kill A Watt meter!!!
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  10. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Super Duper Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    So that's 13 receptacles. The rule of thumb is that you count each duplex receptacle, for design purposes, at 180 VA (volt-amps) which is 1.5A (180VA / 120V = 1.5A) hence the reference to that value in the post below...
    ...which is good advice. I actually hold to 8 duplex receptacles per circuit, because you know in the future someone is going to want to add one somewhere, this allows for flexibility.

    There actually is a code answer to this however:
    https://www.mikeholt.com/mojonewsar...-Answers-Based-on-the-2005-NEC-I~20050223.php

    Q2 What is the maximum number of 15 or 20A, 125V receptacle and lighting outlets permitted on a 15A, 120V general-purpose branch circuit in a dwelling unit?


    A2 The NEC doesn't limit the number of receptacle and lighting outlets on a general-purpose branch circuit in a dwelling unit. See the NFPA's NEC Handbook for more information.


    Although there's no limit on the number of lighting and/or receptacle outlets on dwelling general-purpose branch circuits, the NEC does require a minimum number of circuits to be installed for general-purpose receptacles and lighting outlets [210.11(A)]. In addition, the receptacle and lighting loads must be evenly distributed among the required circuits [210.11(B)].


    Caution: Not likely, but there might be a local electrical requirement that limits the number of receptacles and lighting outlets on a general-purpose branch circuit.


    Hint: google any electrical question and preface it with "NEC" then look for answer on the Mike Holt forum or ecmweb.com, and you're good.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  11. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,364
    Likes Received:
    10,112
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Great advice!

    Or, you can just keep a copy of the most current NEC at your desk. ;)

    IMG_0751.JPG

    Not sure where my 2011 version is... I like the ability to see how the code has changed over the years.
     
    Paul B likes this.
  12. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Super Duper Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    You can also view it for free online through the NFPA website, and see previous versions as well.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  13. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
  14. mcarroll

    mcarroll Well-Known Member R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    10,744
    Likes Received:
    4,501
    Location:
    Virginia
    Last time I looked they wanted an arm and a leg to see the official code....best I could find were some local or regional codes.

    Any special link required or anything?
     
  15. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Super Duper Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids 2016 Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    1,088
    Location:
    WDM, Iowa
    You only need to register (free) and then there are links all over the place for "free access". You have to go page-by-page and can't print, but you can see everything.

    It's a bit buried, but you can find it by continually clicking the links for what you're looking for, from the main page > NEC > free online access link > NFPA 70 > Free Access button > drope down to select edition > click "select edition"

    http://www.nfpa.org/codes-and-stand...ds/list-of-codes-and-standards/detail?code=70
     
  16. Paul B

    Paul B Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Reef Spotlight Award Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    9,088
    Location:
    Long Island NY
    I just threw all of that out. :p
    Now at my age I only work in my house and I do what I want and design what I want. If I blow up the place, I had one heck of a run so it doesn't matter. A lot of the stuff I do (in my own home) is hardly legal but legality is for people working in other people's homes. After all this time being an electrician I know what is safe and how to electrocute myself or blow up the neighborhood. :eek:
     
    Ramasule and Brew12 like this.
  17. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
    A real man!
     
  18. jason.kennedy.98478

    jason.kennedy.98478 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    74
    since this thread has a resident electrician. how does one work on a 24V lighting system and where does one fine replacement squareD parts. i have some lights that are stuck on and others that wont turn on even with a new bulb, and the wiring on the electrical switches is wack. and since its under 30v i dont technically need to open the breaker since it cant kill me but still...
     
  19. Ramasule

    Ramasule Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    832
    sorry bud, way to broad of a question.
    You should google, local electrical supply stores, and go from there.
    You might have a burnt relay or fused contacts if lights are staying stuck on and off, you really have to have someone look at it.
     
  20. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Build Thread Contributor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    7,364
    Likes Received:
    10,112
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    It is better to say that a 24V lighting system is unlikely to kill you. It's hard to believe, but at least one person found a way to kill themselves with a 9V battery. It can be done. It is always best to turn things off to work on them.

    To help answer your question I would need more information such as a part or model number.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Loading...