Your Resident Electrician for all your electrical questions!

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (DIY)' started by Young Frankenstein, May 12, 2012.

  1. coseal

    coseal Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    71
    trying to decide if i need a dedicated circuit for my tank? the outlet near the tank that i was going to use(before i saw this thread..lol) has about 6 outlets/4 ceiling lights on it. it is a 15amp circuit with 12-2 wiring. the circuit runs in the den so there is the normal audio video load. tank is 120gallon with dc pumps and t5 lighting also running a chiller. am i over thinking it?
     

  2. JROD79

    JROD79 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    14
    It all depends on what the other outlets are used for. If your even thinking about it tells me you should run a new line for just the tank. Better safe than sorry
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  3. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    11,564
    Likes Received:
    17,659
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I agree with running a new dedicated line but it may not be necessary.

    You can do some quick math to see where you are at. 15 amps is 1800 watts. Start at 1800 and subtract the power rating in watts of the light fixture and heaters (unless your chiller uses more power than your heaters). Take out another 150 watts for your return pump and power heads. If you have less than 800 watts left after doing that it is best to run a new circuit.

    Or if it is an outlet you run a vacuum cleaner off of in that room a new circuit is a must.
     
    Behnken likes this.
  4. JRA8688

    JRA8688 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    13
    +1 on the vacuum comment!
     
  5. coseal

    coseal Active Member Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    71
    yea.. a vacuum is definitely used on that circuit. so i should ask for one outlet with 12-2 ran to panel with one 15a gfci breaker? or would a wall gfci be better?
     
  6. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    11,564
    Likes Received:
    17,659
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    At a minimum I would have them run a circuit to a 2 gang outlet and maybe even a 4 gang outlet. I would install separate GFCI receptacles (not daisy chained) so a loss of one piece of equipment doesn't take out your entire tank.
     
  7. Floyd R Turbo

    Floyd R Turbo Super Duper Member R2R Supporter Gold Sponsor Toys For Kids Sponsor Article Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,934
    Likes Received:
    2,186
    Location:
    West Des Moines, IA
    Go 20 Amp if you're going to run 12-2 anyways. Then use 20A rated receptacles.

    I don't know about the 80% trip comment though, that would mean a 20A breaker is going to trip at 16A. Breakers don't trip based on reaching a precise value, meaning you can shoot past 20A for a short period of time and not trip or you can run at just below 20A for a longer period of time and it will eventually trip, depends on the breaker curve
     
  8. JROD79

    JROD79 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    14
    All breakers are designed to trip at 80 percent.
     
  9. JROD79

    JROD79 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2018
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    14
    Excuse me not all are but thats all i have seen in the local stores. Unless i specifically ask for a 100 percent rated breaker from an electrical supplier.
     
  10. hubcap

    hubcap Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    Brick/Herbertsville NJ
    Maaaan....I LOVE those OMRON timer/relays.
    Expensive suckers, but, oh, so versatile.
     
  11. jgvergo

    jgvergo Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    New York
    I'll try to keep this question short, but I may not succeed :)

    I recently had two power outages which I was unprepared for. I heated tank water on my gas stove and manually stirred my tank with a big serving spoon. I am now very motivated to get a generator.

    I recently moved. In my old house, I installed a mechanical transfer switch in my electrical panel. The panel was in my garage and I was able to install a plug for a generator that was right next to the panel. I loved the solution because I could power any circuit in the house on or off (which meant my tank was protected). The logistics were pretty easy b/c I ran the generator in my driveway, which was 3' from my electrical panel.

    In my new house, my panel is in a utility room that is 60 feet from where I want to place my generator. So my questions are:
    1) Can I run a generator line 60-70 feet into a receptacle that is on a transfer switch?
    2) Is there a good solution for how to get the generator power through a wall?

    Here is a diagram that hopefully helps illustrates my questions:

    Screen Shot 2018-03-16 at 5.06.13 PM.png

    Note that it would be too expensive to run a permanent line behind the walls from the panel to a location where I intend to run the generator.
     
  12. siggy

    siggy Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    I assume the gen. is in front of garage? put your receptacle there and hardwire your trans. switch,
     
  13. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    11,564
    Likes Received:
    17,659
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    Yes, you can. Just make sure you use properly rated cable.
     
  14. Erica-Renee

    Erica-Renee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    Louisville Kentucky
    What else is in the area where the generator will go.. By any chance a close laundry room HVAC .
    Reason i ask.. You can feed your Generator (THOU NOT BEST PRACTICE BUT SAFE WITH CAUTION ) Thru say a Exterior ac unit... a Electric Range ... If they have a wire large enough and proper breaker in your panel.... It Really depends output of the generator what you want it to run...
     
  15. Brew12

    Brew12 Electrical Gru R2R Supporter R2R Excellence Award Reef Squad Leader Article Contributor Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2016
    Messages:
    11,564
    Likes Received:
    17,659
    Location:
    Decatur, AL
    I normally recommend against this. Not that it can't work, but if you don't open the main breaker to your panel it can be very dangerous. Not only can you backfeed the service transformer but if power comes back while your generator is running it can damage the generator. It can even explode violently.

    So yes, it will work. Yes, I do something similar. Just make absolutely sure that you isolate the main feed from the utility to your house prior to connecting the generator.
     
    Erica-Renee likes this.
  16. Erica-Renee

    Erica-Renee Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    318
    Location:
    Louisville Kentucky

    Exactly.. That is my WITH CAUTION.. I think a main lock out device should be used as well as a Very Great understanding of what you are doing..
    Was just stating there is a possible way..... WITH CAUTION....

    thanks
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  17. jgvergo

    jgvergo Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    New York
    The mechanical transfer switch ensures that panel is fed by the generator or the grid, but not BOTH at the same time.
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  18. jgvergo

    jgvergo Well-Known Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    New York
    No, the generator will be in the back of my house. It has to be 60-70 feet from the panel (you have to trust me on this).
     
  19. siggy

    siggy Valuable Member R2R Supporter Build Thread Contributor Partner Member 2018

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2017
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    1,964
    Location:
    Chesterfield Michigan
    I was simplifying that mount the receptacle where you want to and run a permanent approved cable tru basement or crawl and hardwire to the transfer switch. You really don't want a plug and receptacle connection there,
    It will get hot and Inexpensive plugs/receptacles will breakdown and become fire hazards, Also Plug and socket connections are considered " Portable" and would require a more costly cable. Best would be to talk to a knowledgeable person at lowes or HD and they will help with your purchase and local requirements. Good luck and FWIW I recommend this style setup for portable hook ups (old school) 30+ years in the trade
     
    Brew12 likes this.
  20. needbiggertanks

    needbiggertanks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    594
    Likes Received:
    557
    Location:
    St. Paul MN
    New Question: I am trying to find the best way to connect the ground wires from float sensors and water sensors to my Break Out Box single ground port.

    I purchased the below; please help me know which is safest/best, or neither

    20180317_153413.jpg
     
Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice
Loading...