Zoanthid eating nudibranchs? Help!

nickenayat

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey all. I'm not sure if I have nudi branchs or spiders or starfish or what. I'm posting some picks of the presumed damages to my zoanthid. I noticed a small area that wasn't opening maybe 7-10 days ago and thought nothing of it really. Recently I noticed some heads completely gone and what looks like bite marks or damage to other heads. Please any advice as to what it is and how to take care of it. Thanks in advance!!
IMG_6548.JPG
IMG_6549.JPG
IMG_6550.JPG
IMG_6551.JPG
IMG_6552.JPG

dbl

It Takes Less Energy to be Nice
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not a zoa expert but it looks like zoa pox to me. Would like to bring some help in for either confirmation or correction. #reefsquad.

If it is zoa pox, I went through a treatment with mine using Furan 2. I'll see if I can find the info and post here just in case. It worked great in my case.

Sabellafella

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
5   0   0
Hey all. I'm not sure if I have nudi branchs or spiders or starfish or what. I'm posting some picks of the presumed damages to my zoanthid. I noticed a small area that wasn't opening maybe 7-10 days ago and thought nothing of it really. Recently I noticed some heads completely gone and what looks like bite marks or damage to other heads. Please any advice as to what it is and how to take care of it. Thanks in advance!!
IMG_6548.JPG
IMG_6549.JPG
IMG_6550.JPG
IMG_6551.JPG
IMG_6552.JPG
Does look like pox but also looks just like grains of sand. Try blasting them with a turkey baster to see if it comes off

ahiggins

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It doesnt look like pox to me.
Palys will naturally have some sand embedded in their skin if it gets on them.
You could try to blow it off.
Have you moved them recently? Have you added any crabs/snails lately to your tank?