Deflated RBTA

timdyer86

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby. I put an RBTA in my 16g nano after being assured by two separate stores it was ok to do so. The RBTA was attached to a rock. I put the rock in the aquarium and it soon started wondering around the tank. The picture is the RBTA 6 days in my tank. Today, day 6, it attached to the rock. Is it normal for the RBTA to be deflated for a week or so when placed in a new tank? What can I do to make sure he likes his new home?

The first picture is the RBTA at the store. Second picture is in my tank.

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    95.6 KB · Views: 570
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    90.2 KB · Views: 732

Darth Polymnus

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Typically you want a bigger tank that's been cycled for over a year. The point there is stability. A smaller tank can experience parameter swings that will annoy the anemone. But to answer your question, yes it's normal for the anemone to deflate in a new tank.

CoralReeforrest

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Typically you want a bigger tank that's been cycled for over a year. The point there is stability. A smaller tank can experience parameter swings that will annoy the anemone. But to answer your question, yes it's normal for the anemone to deflate in a new tank.

This is definitely a good point. As for your nem, did you do a good slow acclimation or did you just throw him in??nems are quite sensitive and require stability and the right flow. My brother has his rbta in a 30 biocube and it moves daily as it still has yet to find its sweet spot. So good luck with yours. Deflation is also relevant to lighting. They require bright lighting to be happy. What lighting do you have? Tank params?

OP
OP
T

timdyer86

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0