need some advice on GHA......

haze2276

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone I am new to the forum and have a couple of questions. I have been battling hair algae now for a few months and starting to feel like I am losing lol. First off I am using canister filters due to not having the room in the stand (I use two a fluval 305 and a fluval 406) the 305 was introduced in order to run phosphate removers and it returns slowly to the tank the 406 runs 2 chemipure, gac, rowaphos. I also have a euro usa hob skimmer. The tank is 75 gallons by the way. I have removed the rock on numerous occasions and scrubbed them . At first I thought it was my old t5 bulbs that originally caused it so I "upgraded" to the current usa marine orbit led lights and since then realized that it wasn't a strong enough to do much. Since the I have reused my coralife ho 2 bulb t5 fixture and my zoas are doing great. I have a hanna checker for phosphate and it reads 0.02 nitrates are 5 ppm everything Elsa is zero. I have a sea hare and big cuc and although the breakout is 100 times Better I still have a few rocks with what seems to be a flowing carpet. Any advice would be appreciated. Sorry for the long post just at my wit's end.

Tahoe61

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If possible please post an image to rule out Byropsis.

Do you have a lot of fish, do you really need the canister?

What types of snails or hermits? A lot is fine but not if they are not going to eat GHA, not all cuc are created equal.

What is your water source and have you tested it for nitrates and phosphates?

Exactly how old is your tank?

Only as a last resort would I disturb the scape and remove rocks to scrub, there are better ways, you just need to nail down what will work. It will not get better over night

Last edited:
OP
OP
H

haze2276

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ok here we go lol:

4 stage ro/di for make up water
2 ocellaris clowns