JerSaint's 29

JerSaint

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am a full on NEWB to this whole reefing thing. I am an avid planted tank keeper and chose to dip my toe in on the reef side. This is my humble starting point. My tank has been up and running for just three months. I already ran into an ich problem that took out the two tomato clowns. I will be running my 29 along with the last minute hospital tank (thrown together to try and beat ich) fish free for the next three months.

Here are some pics and I will post updates as they come.

Pocillipora

Duncan

Hammer

Torch

Frogspawn

Zoas

OP
OP
JerSaint

JerSaint

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
35-40ish. I need to get some new pics. I got a few new frags at my clubs March meeting.

Chevyguy8893

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Sorry to hear that you lost the clowns. Those look like some nice corals that you picked up. I look forward to seeing some new pictures once you take some.

OP
OP
JerSaint

JerSaint

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am working on dialing in my parameters. I am hoping to pick up a skimmer to add to the system this week which should help nail things down. The mesh breeder basket is holding cheato to help reduce phosphate.
Params:
Salinity 1.026
pH 8.2
Calcium 520
KH 7*
Phosphate Less than .25 PPM
Nitrate 20 PPM

Some photos(my camera skills suck!)
FTS

Finger Leather

Frogspawn

Hammer

Polyp extension

Red Mushroom

Pocillipora

Xenia

Zoas

Last edited:

vlangel

Seahorse whisperer
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I really like your aquascape. It has a nice focal point but still moves the eye around. One thing I heard about sand beds is that they should either be less than an inch or more than 4. With trim yours may be more than 4 but I thought I'd mention that in case you never heard that. Your planted tank is amazing!!!

OP
OP
JerSaint