Stn?

CastAway

Prone to wander, never lost.
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My tank has been running almost six months now, my first. In those six months I’ve had two really discouraging events. First, I lost three fish - I have no idea why or how. That happened in July. And now, it appears as if I’m going to lose some SPS.

I only have four pieces of SPS in my tank. The first was a green monti-cap, my very first piece, added Apr 18th, which appears to be doing great. It had a bout where it lost its color, when I first started my GFO, but is has more than quadrupled in size and is a vibrant green at this point, trimmed in new white skeletal growth.

The other three pieces of SPS are all birds nests, one sour apple (pictured), a pink birds nest and a hyacinth which was gifted from Todd (TJ’s Reef).

All three bird’s nests seem to be doing the same thing, they were growing gang busters, then stopped, and are now sloughing off tissue. As a newbie, I have no real idea what constitutes “rapid†from “slowâ€, but it has been two weeks now watching them diminish. As best I can tell, my params are all good.

I did begin adjusting my Ca reactor a couple weeks ago, trying to get my dKH, Ca & Mg to more desirable levels. Alk went from 10 to 13 over the course of about a week and a half, Ca from 400 to 430, and Mg from 1260 to 1340. If there was anything that I can tie the TN to, it’s this. But, it was over a span of time, testing twice daily making minute adjustments to CO2 and reactor effluent output, and the new values are closer to target. To get Mg up, and not drive Alk too high, I did use SeaChem’s Ions product.

So what’s going on? Too much change in too short a time? STN that I can do nothing about? Please help.

ReeferBee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've found that birdsnest are the first to STN from the base up, if there is an alkalinity swing. I consider mine to be the "canary" coral of my tank.

OP
OP
CastAway

CastAway