Aquarpure Nitrate Filters

00geno

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reef to Reef Community, I'm here this evening to ask about Nitrate filters. I was wondering if anyone can give me any information on the Aquarpure Nitrate filters, the filters that you add Vodka to seed the process of the filter.. I was wondering if anyone knows if this type of filter actually works? Does this type of filter system completely removes all Nitrates? I would also like your opinion on if you would purchase a Nitrate filter and if's worth the money they're asking for it. I'm new to running a Reef Aquarium and any help would be greatly appreciated.. I call myself looking at old posts here on Reef to Reef to see if anyone asked this question before, but i cant seem to find anything on Nitrate filters or I'm overlooking it.. Thanks so much!!

phillrodrigo

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They do work. There are nitrate reactors. They are pretty expensive. I would try carbon dosing with vinegar or vodka first. Research it first.

mike007

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They will certainly help but you need to find the source of your nitrate problem. Most of the time excess nutrients are the cause of nitrate issues.

OP
OP

00geno

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi!! Thanks for your reply, i was wondering where should i look for complete info on Carbon dosing with vinegar or vodka? Is that how you keep your Nitrates low?

OP
OP

00geno

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey!! sorry for taking so long to reply, but the holidays and work has been crazy!! My Nitate levels have been really high, today i had time to do a 20% (RO/DI) water change and then after about 4 hrs i took a Nitrate reading from my sump and the reading of my Nitrate levels are at 80ppm.. What else can i do besides changing more water? Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!! THANKS!!

OP
OP

00geno