Growing pods in the overflow box question

salttanklife

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My Eshopps sump only has 2 compartments so I can't really set up a refugium due to the skimmer being in one and my return in the other. I was wondering if anyone has tried throwing some lr and cheato in the overflow box to see if they'll grow in there. What would be the downside of doing this, I would imagine it'll be kind of hard to clean. My tank is a 90 gallon bowfront, so it's pretty tall, I think around 30". So I've got plenty of wasted space in the overflow box and I'm trying to make use of it. I'm still a newbie and I've never tried doing anything with growing pods, my tank has been running for about a year and a half now and it's my first sw tank.

Attachments

• 20140420_205802.jpg
    20140420_205802.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 320
  • 20140420_205453.jpg
    20140420_205453.jpg
    91.1 KB · Views: 306
  • 20140420_205419.jpg
    20140420_205419.jpg
    94.8 KB · Views: 321
OP
OP
salttanklife

salttanklife

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Does anyone think it's even plausible to do so. It might be a dumb question because I've never tried anything with growing pods and don't know how to do it.

OP
OP
salttanklife

salttanklife

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yeah it would be bad if it got clogged with the return pump still pumping. Maybe it's not such a good idea when you put it like that. I might try throwing just some lr in it to see if my shrimp population will grow.

booth2010

Newb but eager to learn!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That's the only thing I can think of too. If you can figure a way to get the macro from the intake and still allow good flow it would probably work.

YHSublime

Reefopotamus
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0