Transfering from a dino infested tank

Mmsetta

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Well- the Dino's beat me. I have been fighting them for two months and they took all my cleanup crew, my skunk shrimp, and two fish. I surrender!

But, I had an upgrade I was planning anyways. Does anyone know how I can move my fish (just one clown and a gramma) as well as two anemone's over without bringing the Dino with them?

I was thinking a fresh water dip. Never did that before some any advice would be great.

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I do not believe that the fish nor the anemone will carry the dinos over. Corals on frags will, live rock, decos, sand, equipment and such, but not those guys.

jedimasterben

Bubble coral sting good
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You cannot transfer anything other than fish, and even then, you MUST quarantine the fish as they can (and will) hold dinoflagellates stuck to their slime coat.

GGL_8417a.jpg

You cannot transfer any other livestock such as corals or anemones. They do not capture these dinoflagellates for symbiotic reasons like they do with zooxanthellae (which are also dinoflagellates), but they do take them in as more of an accident and release them later, infesting the new system. This comes from experience.

OP
OP
M

Mmsetta

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks for the honest feedback Jedi. Thinking about giving the fish up and just starting over. The anemone's hurt though- real nice sunbursts. Any way you know that I can transfer them successfully. I.e. Quarentine.

Also, when qt'ing the fish, what will this do? Qt for a month in a new tank? Do I treat them with anything? And will qt'ing the bta's have the same cleansing effects?

jedimasterben

Bubble coral sting good
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0