New here, can use some advice/recommendations

S3PANG

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

So before I get in to what I need help with, I just want to briefly introduce myself. I've been doing reef keeping for about 2-3 years and have been doing mostly nano size reefs. I've had relatively good luck, but I've encountered a situation that I need to call in the help of others for.

So here's the situation. My friend tried to get in to this, but he seems to have completely neglected his tank and now he's asking me to help him get his tank back in the right direction. I've taken a few photos of what his tank looks like, and while it's not terrible, it needs work. I've never worked with a tank this big, nor had problems like he's having so I'm not certain what steps to take to help out. He has a 65 gallon tank with a sump setup with an aquac remora hang on back pro sized skimmer. His tank looks primarily to be suffering from red hair algae and aiptasia. In terms of livestock the tank has 2 black clowns, a royal gramma and a pistol shrimp. He said he had a goby with it but the goby died. He says he rarely does water changes :)squigglemouth:). I recommended to him so far to obviously start water changes, but also to get some peppermint shrimp once he checked his water levels to help deal with the aiptasia. What else would you recommend? Thanks for all the help.

IMG_3993.jpg
IMG_3994.jpg
IMG_3995.jpg
IMG_3996.jpg
IMG_3997.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_3996.jpg
    IMG_3996.jpg
    94.9 KB · Views: 212
  • IMG_3997.jpg
    IMG_3997.jpg
    96.3 KB · Views: 222

fagundespavinp3

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Need tank Specs, Light ,gal, sump size, test kit results, what salt... anything. how long has it been up and running?

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't see enough flow in the tank, probably the reason the Cyano is all over the place.