QT Cycling Question

spound

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 6, 2023
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Location
NJ
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know this is probably a dumb newbie question, but.....
If the "good" nitrifying and other bacteria that are present after the cycle is complete dont reside in the water column, but in the live rock and substrate. Why can't you just have lets say 3# of live rock from an established healthy tank in a small 2 gallon QT, with no substrate, a small filter and heater with fresh sea water and be good to go? Shouldn't the bacteria that inhabit the live rock be enough to handle any very small amounts of ammonia and nitrites that a nano fish or a few frags would release?
Yes on the frequent water changes regardless....
 

TX_REEF

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2023
Messages
1,484
Reaction score
1,844
Location
Texas
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
2 gallons is too small in my opinion to maintain stable parameters and provide fish with appropriate space to be comfortable while in QT. You can certainly use cycled mature rock in an appropriately-size QT.
 

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
29,169
Reaction score
23,384
Location
tejas
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The problem is meds bind to rock

The described setup works for observational setups but not medicated ones
 
OP
OP
S

spound

New Member
View Badges
Joined
Nov 6, 2023
Messages
15
Reaction score
5
Location
NJ
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Dealing with an algae outbreak and wanted to move some coral out while I cleaned it up over a few days.
 

Reefering1

Valuable Member
View Badges
Joined
May 20, 2022
Messages
1,302
Reaction score
1,261
Location
Usa
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
For best advice, share white light pics and give details about tank
 

EeyoreIsMySpiritAnimal

Just another girl who likes fish
View Badges
Joined
May 14, 2019
Messages
12,754
Reaction score
19,089
Location
Spring, Texas
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I know this is probably a dumb newbie question, but.....
If the "good" nitrifying and other bacteria that are present after the cycle is complete dont reside in the water column, but in the live rock and substrate. Why can't you just have lets say 3# of live rock from an established healthy tank in a small 2 gallon QT, with no substrate, a small filter and heater with fresh sea water and be good to go? Shouldn't the bacteria that inhabit the live rock be enough to handle any very small amounts of ammonia and nitrites that a nano fish or a few frags would release?
Yes on the frequent water changes regardless....
Correct.
(Except: the bacteria you're worried about don't do anything to nitrATE, and corals don't produce ammo or nitrate, they consume it.)
 

Resetting your reef: Have you ever had to unstack and restack the aquascape?

  • I have re-aquascaped the entire tank.

    Votes: 95 54.9%
  • I have re-aquascaped part of the tank.

    Votes: 53 30.6%
  • I have not ever re-aquascaped the tank.

    Votes: 37 21.4%
  • Other.

    Votes: 4 2.3%
Back
Top