180g stocking help

Kayl_Neko

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey folks. While I am a good ways away from starting this tank, I'm currently researching like crazy to determine how to build this monster. Since the intent is to build the tank around the livestock, I figured I'd check with y'all on what I'm thinking of stocking and what I'm currently planning for the build. I've been doing freshwater for a few years now and I have a pretty good idea what constitutes light/heavy/way overstocked, but saltwater stocking numbers, I have not yet gotten a handle on, so would appreciate any input so I can tweak the plan as needed. :)

A Blue Tang (Paracanthurus hepatus) and a clownfish are the must haves. The fact that my roommate wants the tang (she wants a Dory and Marlin) is how I managed to talk the rest of the house into letting me upgrade the plan from a 90 to a 180, so I'm rather fond of the idea as well *lol*. Then I want a Watchman Goby and Tiger Pistol shrimp (I love symbiotic relationships), a Starry Blenny, and I'm thinking a school of 6-8 either Zebra Barred Dartfish or Scissortail Dartfish. And eventually, I would like to get a Mandarin, though for obvious reasons that's a couple years and some learning and pod cultivation down the line. Those are the fish I'm fairly certain about.

This last group are the ones I'm going back and forth on which ones would fit best. We both like the tank bred Banggai Cardinals, so a pair or a group of those are a possibility, though I'm not sure how a school of them and a school of the dartfish would look, just thinking aesthetically. I was thinking a Cleaner Wrasse initially, but everything I've read about them has me deciding against them and looking towards the Dusky Wrasse, if A) I can find one, and B) y'all think it would work in the tank. I've also looked into the Bannerfish (so she can have a sort-of Gil to go with Dory and Marlin), and I've looked into the Chevron Tang (because they're gorgeous!)