300 gallon DD new build with 300 gallon DD livestock transfer.

svogun

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey guys. While I'm new to reef2reef, I have been involved in the aquarium hobby for 28 years thanks to my dad who got me started. I've kept everything from freshwater, discus, african cichlids and of course, reef tanks. I'm partial to the reef tank as the ocean and diving are my passions and like most folks I started small and realized... Hey I could go bigger!

Having my own little piece of the reef has been the topic of many long conversations with my dad throughout the years. As a 60th birthday gift a few years back, I went ahead and surprised my father with a 300 gallon deep dimension reef tank. Its been up and running for over 3 years and has brought us hours of enjoyment. There is nothing better than coming home from a long week of work to sit by your own piece of the ocean and unwind. However, with the birth of my son 14 months ago (and the first grandchild in the family), my parents have since put their house on the market and are looking to move closer than there 50 minute commute. Thus begins the epic build/transfer of a Marineland 300g DD tank in my house.

I should preface by saying this is a retrospective as over the past holiday weekend, over a year of discussion and preparation was completed!

I hope this thread serves as a source of information and entertainment. It will encompass the entire build of a custom filtration system in my basement, to the logistics of safely transferring a fully matured reef tank with 1000lbs of liverock, mulitple LPS corals, and several fish. My next post will discuss the preparation that went into this project and as time goes on obviously I will be posting a ton of pictures. Excited to share my experience of this epic project with you guys!

Kworker

Tang Lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0