“Impulse buy” feat Starfish

Pop

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I am new to the hobby and my tank has been cycled for week or two now and I already have fishes in my tank. So I went to a fish store and saw this star fish on sale.

I WAS LIKE OMG I NEED IT.
without thinking I got it..

It was called fischer Starfish ? I’m might not be spelling it right? I let it acclimate for 1 hour using drip method and put him in my tank. He seems fine but he is hiding in the corner on the top of the tank. Does anybody know what kind of diet he has ?

OP
OP
Pop

Pop

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Think star fish are scavengers and idk how mature of a take they need but I would think they need need a pretty stable one idk if I would of gotten one only being cycle week or 2
Yeah.. Should i return it? He seems fine right now but I don’t want him to get stressed out.

jordan10

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ummmm I would probably just let it go and see how it does ya never know I have a red throny star and he use to hang at the surface when I first put him in now he's fine. U might be ok. Just research what u get next time.

S2G

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't know a lot about that starfish but if it cant eat nori or something simple it will probably starve

mattzang

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
i let my tank mature for about a year before i added a non brittlestar, and just like everyone on here said, it was fine for a few months, then one day just kinda stopped moving. legs started breaking down. and i felt super crappy. i'm not sure what a fischer starfish is, but i doubt it lasts long. i'd return it

Jon Fishman

Cleveland Ohio, buy/sell local!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0