A couple general questions after the death of a fish....

SuperNarwhal46

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So.... I had a clownfish die about a month ago now. That was my first time keeping a fish, ever. I am fairly new to the hobby, and I am wondering my next steps are regarding a couple things in my 10g tank.

1. I hadn't had the chance to test my water up until recently, and my nitrite and ammonia are 0, my pH is about 8.1, but my nitrate is at 40 ppm. Does this mean that the tank is still cycled? I haven't added anything since my fish died because I think he died due to disease, (but it could have been a number of things, he died within 3 days of getting him) and I wanted the parasites to die down before I do anything else. If it is cycled, I think I might establish it with a damsel and trade it in for another fish later, since my last clownfish didn't do so well.

2. I have some caribsea live sand in my tank, and whenever I use my siphon lots of fine sand particles get stirred up in the water column. Any tips on how to fix it?

3. I am trying to figure out how to properly aquascape my tank. I have a single live rock in the middle of the tank and it looks pretty boring and there is no hiding spots. Any good and cheap dry rock I can get to help this? And what configuration should I put it in for my small tank?

I kind of have a lot of questions, but I would appreciate it greatly if you could help me out! Thanks in advance.

atul176

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So.... I had a clownfish die about a month ago now. That was my first time keeping a fish, ever. I am fairly new to the hobby, and I am wondering my next steps are regarding a couple things in my 10g tank.