Beginner's 150 Gallon Build

Brisk

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone,

So a little brief introduction. I've only had freshwater aquariums on and off since I was a child with the last tank about 25 years ago. About 3 months ago, I got inspired again to start an aquarium from watching a YouTube video on cichlids. I started to research into it and was set on doing a planted cichlids but while doing my researching on what I'll need, I started looking into saltwater and got even more inspired watching other reefer's YouTube. After comparing the two, I've decided to start a reef tank and then we'll see what it'll evolve into. I'm very new to the reefing hobby, so please excuse me if something doesn't sound right. Since I'm still learning, please offer any advices, suggestions, opinions, and comments also.

Originally I was set on a 36" length tank due to the limited space I have. Once thing led to another and before I knew it, I ended up going bigger and spending more than I wanted to :beaming-face-with-smiling-eyes:. My tank is on order and I purchased most of the equipment I think I'll need (want) during Black Friday.

Here's my aquarium system so far:
  • Display Tank: 155g tank - 60" length x 24" width x 25" height (with 30" Modular Marine Overflow) built by @CDA Fish Tanks (expected delivery - middle of April)
  • Stand: Laguna style stand constructed out of steel and gloss white laminate panels
  • Canopy: This will be a DIY project and it'll be a floating canopy style using 80/20 aluminums.
  • Lighting: 2 x Orphek Atlantik iCon
  • Rock: Already purchased 60 lbs. of dry rock and will be adding the rest live rocks.
  • Sand: I'll probably do half Tropic Eden Reeflakes and Mesoflakes. I haven't decided if I'll add some live sand to the mix but considering it.
  • Sump: 48 x 18 x 16 designed by Yury over at Poseidon's Creations
  • ATO: 10 x 12 x 30 - 15 gallons designed by Yury over at Poseidon's Creations