Boil/dry rocks to kill Aiptasia?

KyleC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi Everyone,

So I'm a newbie both here and to SW Fish. Aquired a 300ltr tank complete with rock, some fish, inverts and coral. Unlucky for me it has Aiptasia.

I've read all the treatments but for one reason or another I don't think they're safe/practical.

Is it possible to cut my corals off and temporarily house them in QT tank. Then bleach/boil the rocks to kill the Aiptasia? Some are in the sand too -_-

Wanted peppermint shrimp but my puffer will eat them.

20230309_132053.jpg 20230309_093832.jpg 20230309_132136.jpg 20230309_132118.jpg

laezur

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Boiling your rock is never a good idea in my opinion, so many possible aerosol's you can release that will harm you and other people in your home. No reason to do it, you can buy Aiptasia-X or cover them with glue/construction epoxy (just make sure you cover them entirely and don't leave any exposed). There are far better solutions to boiling your rocks.

Sir Kon Salty Sox

Kind of a Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Boiling not a great option, can be dangerous if you have any kind of toxic corals on the rocks and end up in hospital. If you don’t have any wrasse, berghia nudibranch are an easy fix. Also could try the copperband butterfly fish, blue kleini, a couple freshwater fish that converted to saltwater will eat them. Best option is berghia , but of course the wrasse will pick them off before they have a chance

OP
OP
KyleC

KyleC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks everyone! OK so no boiling the rocks. I have quite a few, possibly too many rocks. Could it be worth a shot taking half out and leaving somewhere warm to dry for a few months?

Covering the Aiptasia would be difficult, so many are tucked under the rocks and in small crevices I can't reach. Might try injecting the larger ones with Aiptasia x to keep the numbers down.