Calling sunburst anemone EXPERTS: When to add one in 15G cube?

girlsdad_AAA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone! I’ve got a 15 gallon AIO cube that’s been set up since April 2023. I know the tank is new but tank is pretty stable. I do 5 gallon water change every other week. Alkalinity is stable at 9dkh. I’ve got a Neptune Apex A3, Kessil A360x, ATO, cooling, helio heater, etc. Temperature stays between 78-78.5.
In fact my rocks are starting to get covered in coralline algae :)
I don’t have any fish right now, just some clean up crew. I do plan on adding one black storm clownfish, a Royal gramma, and a yasha goby in the future.

Given the information above, when do you think I should add a Colorado sunburst anemone?

Thanks in advance for your guidance!

1099B6B1-8A2E-4D9E-8407-D391BAF23C7E.jpeg

CO2TLEY

Saltaholic
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m no expert but most people on here recommend a more mature tank that is 6-12 months old. I’m sure they’ll chime in good luck

shakacuz

hang loose, cuz
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
8months minimum. it’s not so much the water parameters as it is actual tank age via biodiversity (water parameters are of course very important). you need a well established biome

OP
OP
G

girlsdad_AAA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
8months minimum. it’s not so much the water parameters as it is actual tank age via biodiversity (water parameters are of course very important). you need a well established biome
I’m aware of the importance of biodiversity so I’ll be adding a couple pounds of very old live rock like 10year-old rock to the back of the tank. I may also add some rubble rock from tampa
Bay saltwater since I live in Florida :)

OP
OP
G

girlsdad_AAA

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You already know the answer. Your tank is not mature yet. There isn't a good time to add a sensitive, expensive anenome to an immature tank.