Do you need an RO/DI system for a reef tank?

CLYRIC

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm relatively new to saltwater keeping and will be planning on getting a saltwater tank soon. I've always used Fritz Complete which gets rid of ammonia, chlorine, nitrite, nitrate, and heavy metals in the water for my freshwater tanks. I've heard that a RO/DI system is used to remove chlorine and other impurities such as copper in the water. Technically the fritz complete already removes "heavy metals" and other impurities such as ammonia, chlorine, etc anyways, so is a RO/DI system really necessary? Or can I just use my usual fritz complete and then add the salt mix?

Thanks for any response

WestMI-Reefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm relatively new to saltwater keeping and will be planning on getting a saltwater tank soon. I've always used Fritz Complete which gets rid of ammonia, chlorine, nitrite, nitrate, and heavy metals in the water for my freshwater tanks. I've heard that a RO/DI system is used to remove chlorine and other impurities such as copper in the water. Technically the fritz complete already removes "heavy metals" and other impurities such as ammonia, chlorine, etc anyways, so is a RO/DI system really necessary? Or can I just use my usual fritz complete and then add the salt mix?

Thanks for any response
I think those products just neutralize those impurities, RODI will make water that measures at zero (or near zero) TDS. This means pure water, nothing in it. Using tap water, even if treated with fritz, will leave the water with hundreds of TDS (depending on where you live). Many of these dissolved solids will be compounds that are harmful to our reefs and not found in natural environments. RODI is highly advised although I have heard of successful reefs being run on tap.

JPG Corals

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Thanks for any response