HELP my dkh is at 16

neilthefishman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi this is my first attempt at making a salt water tank and have been slowly aquiring the things I need for it. Right now I have a

-20 gallon tank
-Topfin pf20 filter
-Heater (forgot name but is working)
-Wave maker
-Nicrew clip on led light
-Imagitarium concentrated water conditioner
-Coralife essential elements
-API saltwater test kit
-imagitarium saltwater test kit
-instant ocean sea salt

My water parameters:

- salinity : 1.024
- calcium 450 ppm
- 14 dkh
- 8.0 ph
- 10 ppm nitrate
- 0 ppm phosphates
- 0.50 ppm ammonia
- 0 ppm nitrite
(what other things do I need to test for my water parameters)
P.s the info of the water parameters I have is from the test kits I have atm

I also have a little crab in my tank I didn’t mean to get him but he’s just there he was in one of the agricultured rock I purchased

What do I need to change to decrease my dkh and what other equipment and things do I need to build on to get this tank set up for coral, anemones, and 2 clown fish

There is also this weird brownish stuff sprinkled on the bottom of the tank and my rocks. What is it and how can I get it out

image.jpg image.jpg

Attachments

• 72941195092__899015F1-022E-46B7-AB7C-57B3750038EA.MOV
    5.4 MB
Last edited:

CasperOe

In it to win it!
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You don't really need to worry about dKH for now, you're still going through your cycle. One thing at a time for a new reefer! :beaming-face-with-smiling-eyes: How old is your tank?

It does however seem high. What do you use to test your alkalinity? If you really want to dig into this now, I would verify the test results using a different test kit!

Also, your parameters in the post says dKH 14 - your subject line says 16. What is it? :)

OP
OP
N

neilthefishman

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0