High nitrates in a new tank

amarti2038

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello

First of all thanks for reading the post.

I have a new tank, a RedSea 250 G2 with Skimmer and ReefMat.

I have no experience with saltwater aquariums.

January 25th

I started the tank on January 25 of this year 2024.
I use dead marco rock ( https://www.theaquariumsolution.com/product/8232/345 ), about 46 Pounds (21Kg) and I use Carib Sea ARAG-ALIVE live sand, two bags of 20 Pounds each (9Kg per bag). And I added a starter kit quite famous around here of Microfauna and meiofauna eggs (seeded microfauna) and every day I'm dosing live aerobic and anaerobic seawater bacteria (Bactoreef), all from the company Daphbio. I also dose Red Sea Reef Energy Plus AB+ at 5ml per day. I use Tropic Marin Pro salt. I also have a bag of activated carbon in the sump.

I started as advised by my store with fish from day one and some corals.
I use Hanna tests for NO3 and KH. The rest with Salifert.

The parameters were the classic for a cycling, first ammonia peak, then N02 peak and then NO3 peak at 25 ppm in about 4 days.

16th of february
As it already had algae I added about 10 snails, two shrimps and two hermits.

After the N03 peak I did a water change of 40/50% and lowered them to 10ppm, the next day, due to a family problem I had to go on an "emergency" trip for a week. The aquarium stayed 6 days running with the skimmer, the reefmat and the automatic feeder.

February 25th
When I came back the NO3 PPM were at 75, I guess because of the excess of pellet food (4 turns per day with about 15-20 pellets per turn for two Ocellaris and one C. bispinosa).
The same day I did a water change by preheating it to 85% and lowered the N03 to 10ppm.
That day I turned off the automatic feeder and started to feed manually with the pump stopped and pellet by pellet (about 5 pellets per per day).

February 26th
I did another water change by preheating the water to 85% and lowered the N03 to 3 ppm.