How do I get my calcium down ?????

Discussion in 'Reef Chemistry by Randy Holmes-Farley' started by Pellaeon, Feb 5, 2011.

  1. Pellaeon

    Pellaeon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    My calcium is off the charts high 500+ How do I get this down ? I have not dosed calcium, it just seems my corals never use any of it up ...
     
  2. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch ~Brunt of all jokes~

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaduh
    question your test kit first(or use of it) if its 500 its not the end of the world but for it to be 500 something else is off too, what salt do you use?
    If the test is true just find a lower calcium'd salt and do a few small water changes
     
  3. Kbra

    Kbra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    If you other levels are off it will give you a false read on cal
     
  4. aalvarado87

    aalvarado87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    earlimart
    that is pretty high what are all you other parameters off again what kind of salt do you have and what exactly is stocked in your tank... I Wish my calcium was way up there i have to dose it like crazy to keep it pretty high. id say get another test kit though or take it to the LFS your kit could be bad.
     
  5. Sasquatch

    Sasquatch ~Brunt of all jokes~

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canaduh
    out of curiosity what is your SG?
     
  6. DallasJohn210

    DallasJohn210 unregistered

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dallas
    Add lots more coral. Lol
     
  7. Pellaeon

    Pellaeon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I have used Saliferts which I dropped and dropped and it never changed color. I then used my API test kit, same results. I took it to a local LFS to test as well, same thing. They recommended Brightwell Aquatics Reef Builder, telling me that when I get all my other parameters set correctly the calcium will start getting absorbed. I realize high calcium isnt the end of the world but have been told this is one of the reasons I am likely have issues with SPS, cant even keep montipora. I just bought some BA salt, I am hoping between the reef builder and changing salts I can finally make a difference. The salt I was using was Seachem.

    Specific Gravity in one tank is 1.026 the other 1.025 taken with a refractometer.
     
  8. twiggyb

    twiggyb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DeSoto, MO
    Maybe that's what happened to my monti. I had a beautiful lime green plating monti that just browned out one day. I don't know why. My calcium is also reading off the chart with a salifert test kit. I've been using coralife.
     
  9. Pellaeon

    Pellaeon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I had been using Coralife before I switched over to Seachem but I am pretty sure my SPS death bed tank never got Coralife. My SPS just receeded....and receeded until there was none. This has been a re-ocurring theme with SPS for me.
     
  10. btkrausen

    btkrausen Fish Hoarder R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,835
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    What is the SeaChem supposed to measure in terms of calcium. If its too high, you could always mix it with another salt thats lower until you run out of SeaChem, something like Instant Ocean. This way you don't waste any Seachem you have left, and still bring down your calcium.
     
  11. BlazinNano

    BlazinNano Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    Now someone please correct me if I wrong. Please. From the way I understand it corals can't not absorb calcium without magnesium. Where is you magnesium at? Is it low? Also where is you ALK at?
     
  12. VegasRick

    VegasRick Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    590
    Likes Received:
    0
    Whats your alk at? and what are you using to add ca/alk to your system. I imagine its very low as the relationship between ca and alk are tied together.
    Corals don't need Mg to use ca. Mg coats ca carb preventing it from falling out of solution at elevated levels
     
  13. BlazinNano

    BlazinNano Well-Known Member R2R Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL
    Thank you.
     
  14. btkrausen

    btkrausen Fish Hoarder R2R Excellence Award

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,835
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bardstown, KY
    Magnesium is required to keep calcium at a higher level though. If Mag is too low, you'll have a hard time keeping calcium up. What are your Mag levels?
     
  15. MimicOcto8

    MimicOcto8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    hahah that was my first thought. get something in the tank to soak it up lol. Ca and Alk go hand and hand. So if your Ca is high your alk is probably low. With all this good info you just got (what salt do you use, check your test kit, what else is out of rang) you should have it figured out soon.
     
  16. beaslbob

    beaslbob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,122
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    huntsville, al
    It is very possible to have calcium at 500ppm or higher. espcieally in new systems.

    I would check alk and betcha it is low. If that is the case using a ittle baking soda to get KH up to 10 degrees will result in calcium lowering.

    look up dr randy holmes-farley's diy 2 part. the first step is to get cal/alk/mag in line. Using a one time dosing adjustment. then to dose according to udage.

    my.02
     
  17. Pellaeon

    Pellaeon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    I will retest my Mag tonight. Up until 3 weeks ago, I had never dosed Magnesium. I will also retest my KH, it was a little low the last time I had tested it. Low according to Salifert's recommendation. I have not added anything specifically for KH, only added the 8.3 PH stuff from BA.
     
  18. Pellaeon

    Pellaeon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Will do thanks !
     
  19. Captain Nemo

    Captain Nemo Look Ma, it's Nemo!!

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    2,052
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Georgia
    What is your ALK and MAG levels??? Are you using the Seachem reef salt or just the Seachem salt??
     
  20. Pellaeon

    Pellaeon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Looks like things have changed a bit since I started dosing Mag ?

    54 Gallon +40 Gallon
    KH 7.7
    ALK 2.74
    MAG 1050
    CALC 450

    60 Gallon
    KH 7.0
    ALK 2.51
    MAG 1230
    CALC 460

    I was using Seachem Reefsalt. Thanks for everyone who chimed in on this post. Looks like I still have a ways to get my water chemistry up to par.
     

Share This Page