How to raise Calcium

ajremington68

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, so i am very new to the coral hobby, however, I have a 55-gallon tank with a 20-gallon sump so i would say roughly 65 gallons of volume. my calcium has been 420-440, but it recently dropped to 380. i have some frags and a couple of bigger soft colonies like paly and Anthelia. how would you guys recommend raising it without like 2 parts? I did a 5 gallon water change and it didnt effect it at all

OP
OP
ajremington68

ajremington68

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey, so i am very new to the coral hobby, however, I have a 55-gallon tank with a 20-gallon sump so i would say roughly 65 gallons of volume. my calcium has been 420-440, but it recently dropped to 380. i have some frags and a couple of bigger soft colonies like paly and Anthelia. how would you guys recommend raising it without like 2 parts? I did a 5 gallon water change and it didnt effect it at all
guess im not afraid of 2 part just dont know what to do, i kind of know of kalkwasser but not much.

Propane

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you want to just raise calcium you could just dose that. I would check all parameters first then decide what option is best.

Propane

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would also retest to verify the 380.

Reef Devils

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So i tested on the 28th and it was 380 and I did a 5-gallon water change, and I retested tonight and it is still 380. maybe another water change or a bigger water change?
What test kit are you using? I would dose some calcium.

Cichlid Dad

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0