JBJ 65 gallon aio tank questions

lukedauito

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I am new to saltwater but not new to aquariums and in the process of starting up a reef tank.

I came across the jbj black 65 gallon rimless aio at Petco.
I have the vital care 20% plus a couple coupons and my total would be 1162.99 shipped. This includes the stand as well.

i feel like after everything I have looked at for aio tanks this is the best deal I have found by far.

I understand I will be spending more on other equipment, but I have two mp40s that are a previous model. Have an rodi filter as well. And 3 questionable non hd hydra 64s.

Would like to see other peoples opinions on this.

does anyone have jbj aquariums and how is the quality?

I like bigger tanks, and but is starting with a 65 gallon too much ? They have a 45 gallon cube aio, I just don’t like the aio setup, maybe I’m wrong about that and someone can chime in there. There’s a photo of the 45 gallon cube aio back. i would like to at least fit 1-2 heaters, maybe a skimmer, and some media.

Also dimensions of the 65 gallon chambers are:

1: 4.53 x 4.72 in
2: 5.91 x 4.72 in
3: 12.56 x 4.72

Dimensions of the 45 gallon chambers are:
1: 4.53 x 4.72
2: 3.5 x 4.72
3: 8.03 x 4.72

In terms of getting the full experience, say more equipment down the road and experimenting and learning, its clear choice to get the 65 gallon right?

please any other inputs would be greatly appreciated

A9DBF825-0C13-41C6-9548-326BECD043DD.jpeg
FFF6FEC7-EB36-4823-B408-16FB67AB740A.jpeg 0B391567-CA0C-4C0D-9D0C-2813EA78CD9C.jpeg

Last edited:

nuxx

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Stand is probably not the best, especially if it gets wet... particle board I'd imagine.

Will always been handicapped by not having a sump, but I don't think for 65 gallons it'll be the end of the world.

Thinking of doing a small species specific tank and will probably do AIO.