Keeping a really deep sandbed clean with Garden Eels

kazeespada

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have been planning a garden eel garden for a while now. The plan is for an extra deep, nearly foot deep sandbed so even adult eels can submerge comfortably. One question I can't seem to solve is how to keep the sandbed from forming pockets of Hydrogen Sulfide. Most guides recommend stirring the sandbed, but that would destroy the eel burrows. What are other ways I can keep the sandbed from forming large Hydrogen Sulfide pockets?

MantisShrimpMan

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m not an expert at this at all, BUT, I’ve done a bit of my own research on the matter (for a while I was looking at an 24x24x30 74G tower to make a garden eel garden) and have a few ideas.

Idea #1:
Minimize the overall amount of sand that’s present. Like, when you go to an LFS and see that there’s a plastic deli container filled with sand to support a tube anemone in an otherwise bare bottom or shallow substrate tank. You could use clever aquascaping so that the rock creates a dam whereby one zone in the tank can have a considerably deeper sandbed than the rest. Alternatively a dropoff style tank could accomplish the same thing. The eels will look for deep sand so maybe not right away, but even if it’s hidden I’d bet they’d eventually find the deep sandbed regions.

Idea #2: you need to pack your sand with organisms that will promote sand movement on an ongoing basis. One if not multiple pistol shrimp, jawfish, nassarius snails, etc. stuff that will go deep and make the most of the sandbed.