Nitrite not dropping after 6 months of cycling.

Jurian.G

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been cycling my 100 liter nano tank for over 6 months now. It took over 3.5 months to get rid of the ammonia and now after 6 months the nitrite seemed to be dropping finally. But just as it reached 0,10/0,15 it started rising again with ammonia still 0. Water changes make no difference in parameters. The same before and after the change. I've been dosing bacteria for months. Temperature and salinity have always been great. What should I do now?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
But just as it reached 0,10/0,15

Do you mean nitrite is 0.1 to 0.15 ppm?

In general, you are safe to ignore nitrite entirely. Unlike fresh water, it is not toxic in seawater.

OP
OP
J

Jurian.G

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ppm yes. And It is definitely toxic to animals as far as I know. Perhaps the test isn't showing the correct outcome. So maybe trying a different brand of test might show otherwise. I used a Colombo test

InactionJackson

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ppm yes. And It is definitely toxic to animals as far as I know. Perhaps the test isn't showing the correct outcome. So maybe trying a different brand of test might show otherwise. I used a Colombo test
Never heard of it….go with a different test kit.

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Sorry, but that's wrong. Just stop testing nitrite.

Seriously, total waste of time and money.

You can read all of the data that supports it's lack of toxicity in my article below.

If your LFS told you it was toxic, dump them and get better advice somewhere else.

Nitrite and the Reef Aquarium by Randy Holmes-Farley - Reefkeeping.com

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

Read up on nitrite in reef tanks before buying a kit.

brandon429