OP
OP
Bryan47

Bryan47

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Thanks Randy! I appreciate your expertise !

Rybren

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Quit scaring him Greatwhitetang its the DANG test kit. Come on everyone knows API test kit always has a slight green tint when its 0.

Hmmm. I've been using the API test kits for 6+ years and have never seen this 'slight green tint'. I do, however, agree that it is likely nothing to worry about.

deerhunter06

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hmmm. I've been using the API test kits for 6+ years and have never seen this 'slight green tint'. I do, however, agree that it is likely nothing to worry about.

I find it hard to belive u have been in this hobby for 6 years and never heard of this.

piranhaman00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
BUMP.

I have been doing 40% water changes on a 180 gallon to lower nitrate and planning a 70% this weekend. Is this a bad idea? I am using IO, I can prime the fresh salt water before using?

Randy Holmes-Farley

Reef Chemist
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
BUMP.

I have been doing 40% water changes on a 180 gallon to lower nitrate and planning a 70% this weekend. Is this a bad idea? I am using IO, I can prime the fresh salt water before using?

What nitrate level is causing these major water changes?

piranhaman00

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What nitrate level is causing these major water changes?

100ppm. I plan on doing a 50% sand removal. The 40% water changes work for a few weeks then it starts climbing again. I probably over feed. I just heavily upgraded my skimmer but I want to get the levels much lower to start.

I am having a re occuring bacterial infection on just one fish that comes and goes and I am thinking water quality is the issue.