T5 ballast, how to check?

PedroYoung

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've been running a T5/LED hybrid fixture for about 4 years (Giesemann Aurora). It was one of the early ones that had 120V T5 ballast for 60" 80W ballasts. About a year ago 2 of the bulbs stopped firing (fixture has 2 sets of dual bulb so 4x80W T5's which work in pairs). I swapped bulbs around and the problem stayed with the pair of fixtures. I've been just using the other pair and was doing my yearly bulb swap yesterday. I decided to max out the channel that hadn't been working on the software and just try again swapping bulbs to ensure I hadn't missed anything. The bulbs that had been in the non-working fixture fired up fine in the one that had been working. Moved that bulb back to the non-working fixture and it still didn't work. So I just changed the bulb in the working fixture and tested it out. All good. Then I noticed that the non-working bulb was trying to start, then finally kicked off (I still had the slider at 100%). My question is I guess how would I check the ballasts to see if that's the problem (as opposed to loose wire or corroded contact etc). It's a real pain in the rear to take the fixture apart but it can be done. Is there a single ballast for each pair of bulbs? Not sure where to start if I want to get the other pair going.

Reefing Madness

Carbon Doser
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1710258386878.png

oreo54

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Probably the best approach is to assume you have a bad ballast.
Replace it.
If it fixes the problem..done.
If not you need to look at the wiring.
Which of course you already have started

Soo worst case..You find you have bad connections somewhere and now have a spare ballast.....

Bad connections on the tube ends, corroded switches or bad ballast...
Most common problems.

fishface NJ

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0