Tank upgrade stocking advice.

franklinsreef

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, Newbie here…
Am about to start a tank upgrade… 10 months into current tank but realised early on that we rushed into it… wrong shape, wrong size, not good enough filtration etc… haven’t ordered new tank yet, we are forward planning a bit more this time
Currently have a 200 litre tank,Upgrading to (hopefully) 450 litre.

Current livestock:
2 true percula clowns
Midas Blenny
And a royal Gramma.
would like to move all to the new tank, and would really love a couple of tangs (Tomini/ Purple/ Yellow/Regal are fav) and some Anthias…
And then potentially a Goby and wrasse
Looking for help really with suggestions for stocking order… all old tank inhabitants first? Keep old tank running for a bit and add new ones in between old?
Thanks in advance!

KrisReef

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Are you doing fish only or will you have an anemone for the clowns? Coral?

I think the best way to get a new tank running, if you have the space is to set the new one up and cycle it without light, adding pods and feeding planktonic stuff into the tank to get the environment tuned up before adding fish (or corals). If you are going to have a refugium get that kicked off and add the anthias, wrasse, goby, let them get settled in and the add tangs and the old tank at the same time and feed lightly at first, but with whole chopped clams, oysters, live and frozen plankton items to keep the fish healthy and growing.

But that's just me. There are many ways that can work. Are you going to use live rock or dry rock or a combination?

brandon429

why did you put a reef in that
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
reef tanks don't need filters the live rock is enough

curious as to the portion above where the current filter isn't good enough